3 days in Trieste with my mother

Well the train trip was comfortable and I slept well but my mother says she didn’t.. there were a few long waits in between with trains being up to 1 hr late but all in all a pleasant trip and I enjoyed the scenery. I have to say Italy was exceptional with their assistance – I had booked assistance for my mother at transfer points – In Frankfurt we had to organise different assistance and they arrived [the preorganised assistance] as we were about to leave.
But Italy they were there on time, couteous, nothing was too much trouble and they looked after us well and even organised extra assisitance I didn’t book! I have already organised for the way home and I should hear in a few days if this is done.
On the first day in Trieste, I went off to look around and my mother went off riding buses to all the ares she wanted to vidsit… and no I didn’t go with her ttoooo hard.. but she got her wallet stolen… I rang to cancel her cards and all went smoothly and she received a cash advance from Visa to tide her over so all’s well.
It may be enough to last the next few weeks but well we’ll see.
We met with my cousin who is not well but off on holidays anyway and he’s lent me the flat… to which my mother said ‘Oh but you’ll be there on your own??’ … Now doesn’t that sound good… My mother has been telling me about different places around town… and so has my Auntie… I know everyone experinces their own history… but listening to the retelling of the 2 histories simultaneously… mmm well what can I say… I’m just glad I know nothing and can’t participate!
Anyway we will be going out to Slovenia next Frisay and that will also be interesting… my Slovene cousin and his wife came to town tonight and we orgnised everything and that was great.. so I,m looking forward to being there having a bike and riding around the countryside and then busing it around.
You know I’m in Trieste, which is in Italy but you hear as much Slovene spoken as you do Italian… and the other day when my Auntie was explaining to me that Trieste had almost the most cars per capita then all of Italy  and I asked why shesaid that ..In Italy the petrol was dearer than here… now the interesting thing about that was that it sounded like Italy was ‘the other country’ and here [Trieste] was not a part of that country… So it seems as if people here…well some people here still regard themselves as being ‘…other than Italian’ Interesting huh givn that Trieste has been under Italy since 1954!
Well I’m off to check my email .. I have taken some photos and will try to load them soon!
Leave a Reply

